Route

Viking Bay – Bournemouth – Lands End

Sunday 29th July – Wednesday 1st August – Wednesday 8th August 

Our Read & Ride-A-Thon journey begins at Viking Bay, on Sunday 29th July 2018. From there, the team will (literally) read and ride along the South Coast. The team aims to cycle around 50-60 miles per day, stopping off at a number of bookshops, libraries and other places of interest to enjoy a wide variety of reading materials! 

On Wednesday 1st August, they will be met by a grand reception of friends and family! We look forward to seeing you at the beach, waving in the team as they arrive on Boscombe pier! There will also be representatives from local newspapers, radio and TV, who will promote our fantastic cause!

Finally, after a few more grueling days of cycling up and down the Devon and Cornwall hills, the team will arrive at their final destination – Lands End, on Wednesday 8th August 2018. 

Along the route, the team will also stop off at the following locations, hoping to build awareness of reading in the local communities:

Sunday 29th July – Broadstairs to Rye

Monday 30th July – Rye to New Haven

Tuesday 31st July – New Haven to Chichester

Wednesday 1st August – Chichester to Bournemouth

Thursday 2nd August – Promotions around Bournemouth

Friday 3rd August – Bournemouth to Bridport

Saturday 4th August – Bridport to Exmouth

Sunday 5th August – Exmouth to Salcombe

Monday 6th August – Salcombe to Looe

Tuesday 7th August – Looe to Falmouth

Wednesday 8th August – Falmouth to Land’s End

A big thank you goes to those who are able to provide accommodation for our team along the route!

 donate